top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMal

Roller Coaster of Life

To say life has been a rollercoaster these last few weeks would be a drastic understatement. I arrived in Costa Rica ready to improve my Spanish and await my return to Nicaragua only to end up in a beach town filled with expats, little Spanish, and more of a beach culture than a Costa Rican one.


Two days in I learned my Peace Corps Nicaragua program was officially terminated and there would be no opportunity to return. It was a blow that has taken a while to recover from (still recovering). I had to find a way to come to terms with the fact that, after just more than two months, something I had committed to for 27 months had ended. I had to call my family in Nicaragua and explain that I would not be able to return anytime soon as my niece was yelling my name and screaming "hola tia mally" in the background. I explained the items I had left behind and who they were for (bubbles for the kids, coloring books for my abuelo, a head lamp for my mom, face lotion and soap for my sister, and a lifetime supply of Emergen-C which I am positive they will never use). I talked to my host-sister about how this was not a goodbye, I would come back to visit as soon as the violence eases. What stood out to me the most from the call was talking to my host-mom and her asking how my parents, siblings, and boyfriend were. She had enough going on, but making sure my family in the US was okay and safe was as important as making sure her own was.


After talking to my Nicaraguan family, at the behest of those I love, I spent a few days of me time at the beach. I hammocked with howler monkeys, capuchin monkeys, red squirrels, all types of birds, horses, and pizotes.



I also decided to shed some weight and shave my head, but I couldn't shave it all until I saw what I looked like with a mohawk.


I feel like I rocked it


I spent my days at the beach and my nights trying to avoid getting eaten alive by mosquitoes (and looking for jobs). Because I had no idea what else I would do next, I kept my commitment to work at a hostel in a different part of the country.



I couch-surfed for a few days in the mountains before starting at the hostel and had the opportunity to stay with really interesting Ticas. It was a couple whose house had the most gorgeous views of all the surrounding mountains and I spent those days relaxing, hiking and practicing Spanish with my hosts, and playing with their two adorable dogs.



I've been at the hostel since where I have my own room (it is the size of a shoe box but it's home) and access to a terrace filled with hammocks and views of the mountains all around.


While looking for jobs I reached out to an amazing organization that my college roommate had volunteered with called Sacred Valley Health. Sacred Valley Health works to promote health in the underserved rural communities in the Andes Mountains. This is accomplished by training local women in the communities to be health workers and disseminate important information. Within this realm they focus on access, education, and empowerment. During one of my interviews with them, I was told working for their organization meant hiking through the Andes to these rural villages...hiking is part of the job description....!!! On Friday I officially accepted an offer to be a Community Organizer for the organization (http://sacredvalleyhealth.org/).


A gettyimage of where the organization is based out of

So, I will spend a few more weeks in Costa Rica enjoying waterfalls, tranquility, and supposedly some of the best whitewater rafting in the world; and come the beginning of August (with a possible stop-over in New York first to see my family) will be moving down to Peru. Best of all, my boyfriend will be moving with me (not until the end of August though)!


This is not at all where I thought I would be a year ago today, but I am extremely excited for where I am heading and what comes next.


A quick thank you to those who offered contacts to help me find work and the constant support I have received from those who knew about the situation. It is incredible the network of people I have in my life.


Also taking suggestions for new blog name, Nicaragua: a Peace Corps Story doesn't seem to fit anymore.


Mal


303 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Great Unknown

After a month and a half or so of silence, I’m backkkk (and currently in Costa Rica). I spent the month of May exploring more of the US (see ragtag roadies) especially reveling in national parks out w

Plot Twist

I have been trying to find the words. Wednesday April 18, protests erupted throughout Managua in response to a new Social Security law in Nicaragua. They started out violent and progressively worsened

bottom of page